My Friends, my Bridge

Tomorrow is our Cancerversary. I am trying to write a blog post. But I am gloomy. And moody. Maybe it is because of the significance of the date, maybe it is because Vega is on steroids again and things are a bit crappy anyhow.
I want to write about the year. My worst year so far no doubt. The hardest. The saddest. The most stressful.
But also the most meaningful year. The most unforgettable. They year I realised how important family is and what a good one I have. The year friends for life were made and the year when the goodness of people etched itself so deeply into my conscious that I never felt alone. I want to thank you all, praise you. But everything I write sounds corny. You don’t deserve cheesiness for all your efforts, hell!
I am listening to Johnny Cash singing “Bridge Over Troubled Water”, blaring, really really loud on my headphones.
Simon and Garfunkel had it spot on.

When you’re weary
Feeling small
When tears are in your eyes
I will dry them all

I’m on your side
When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

When you’re down and out
When you’re on the street
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you

I’ll take your part
When darkness comes
And pain is all around
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down

Sail on Silver Girl,
Sail on by
Your time has come to shine
All your dreams are on their way

See how they shine
If you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind

5 thoughts on “My Friends, my Bridge

  1. Dearest Kathi,
    And it has been a year where you and Ray have battled your way through as the most loving parents, not just to Vega but also to Lyra and Alys. You don’t deserve cheesiness for all of your efforts either 😉 but you know what I mean.
    Impressed for life by the fabulous five.
    (And I’m seriously contemplating to order a t-shirt with that slogan…;-)
    Hope my cheesy post cheers you up a bit, add on a very warm hug,
    Roze

  2. That’s one of my favourite songs, and funnily enough it often makes me think of you! Great minds hey!

    You guys are an inspiration to us all-you’ve taught me how strong people can be and I’m constantly in awe of how you hold your family together and give so much love to the kids despite everything else you have to deal with. You are amazing honey, and I feel very lucky to know you. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. you truly are an amazing woman and never in my wildest dreams would I have thought you’d have to go through this horrific ordeal.Standing on that shop floor all those many years ago,laughing,joking not a care in the world,who would have thought you’d be tested like this…… You are made of some strong stuff young lady and I salute you x x x x
    Monique

  4. bring on the cheese!!!!!!!!! As ever my dear so eloquently, beautifully real and wonderfully you in what you write. Did you coin the phrase Cancerversary? i know i am not alone in saying how deeply you are also (all of you) etched in my heart. the gruelling, epic story – with the deeply felt love of all around. Thank you for the song – a necessary reminder today for me especially after getting my latest MRI results (no friggin change – not a diddly squat after 20 months of drugs to help heal a manky bone ravaged from the generous Big C cells) oh well

    so i will be thinking of you over the next few days as am going on retreat for 3 days – a good time to remember all those loved and cherished ones amid the sadness n loss.

    may there be many many bridges over any troubled waters that flow your way. You are as ever very much loved and thanked for sharing,

    big hugs to you and family and poo to the steroids!

    much love Sue xx

  5. Thinking about you all Kathi, I too am constantly in awe of how you have managed it. I was in hospital with Lena at the end of last year, as she had breathing difficulties, and she had to stay in overnight (obviously I stayed too) and I thought about you so much during that time, not knowing how on earth you have managed to do trips to the hospital, late night dashes to the hospital, overnight stays, week long and more and manage it with two other small souls to look after. It was so hard just doing one night. You inspire me and I hope that I have managed to help in a small way. Keep staying strong and know that if you ever need an extra shoulder to cry on and person to lean on, I will gladly be that person for you.

    Beckyxx

Leave a Reply

